Beetroot: Recipe No.3

Standard

If any of you have a father / husband /brother / basically any male you have eaten dinner with – have they ever said they don’t like beetroot??  Categorically!! Well, I can include all 3 relatives above – Raymond tonight.  I do love to be right!!

Using a recipe from Style Magazine – on subscription thanks to my mother-in-law – I decided to create a salad for tonight’s dinner.  It was a lovely sunny day – we are behind on our running target for Run For Congo, so all in all a salad seemed like a good call.

Great call.  Not quite as good as our signature salad (Apple and Walnut – recipe to follow),  but still pretty good.  And sooo simple.

The funny thing is – when you are following recipes, you know you are not a pro when you have to go out to the shop to buy practically everything on the list.  You are such an amateur that you don’t use the things they have, and you don’t know how to substitute!! I am also a bit of a stickler to the recipe – I am sure confidence will come with time.

Extensive Shopping!!

Anyway – it was just so easy.  And Raymond was even a fan of the beetroot.  Seriously.  So I think my father and brother should give it a go too!!

Boil 125g Asparagus for 4 minutes.  Divide 135g salad between two plates.  Top with 100g smoked salmon (with sweet chilli was my addition).  Add 2 sliced cooked beetroots and drained asparagus.  Mix 3 tbsp horseradish, 2tbsp yogurt and 1 tbsp white wine vinegar for dressing.  Voila.  Couldn’t be simpler – really!! And it was truly yummy. Always nice to have a bit of variety with a salad – so give it a go!!

Mmmm, served up.

Mmmm, served up.

The finished product.

The finished product.

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses »

  1. OK, if I hadn’t already been converted to (being addicted to) beetroot (began with borscht in Poland) then this recipe would have done it. That’s tomorrow night’s tea sorted 🙂

  2. I had beet root salad at the Burrendale on Sunday – very nice but yours looks better – must try it

Leave a comment